Interested in joining the Virgo team?

We’re working on an initial set of roles we need to bootstrap Virgo. Please join us in the discussion in the pull request.

In the future, this thread will be used for people to express interest in joining the team.

6 Likes

Hi.

I’m interested in joining the Virgo team.

Looking through the roles listed at virgo dot org, I’d say that I can probably fit best as either a technical copywriter (I’ve got little experience writing about the environment) or hardware developer, though on the hardware side of things I wouldn’t personally be doing so much of the actual PCB layout/design, but instead leveraging my experience and network in putting together systems. I’ve been told on numerous occasions that I do a good job of making technical concepts more understandable.

I’ve done reviews of the open hardware landscape in the past, and left a teaching job in 2014 to pursue open hardware full time in Shenzhen. At that time, I wanted to build a fully-open phone or tablet for students to use so that they could understand how it works. Since then, some good progress has been made by Purism towards an open mobile phone with their Librem 5, but there’s a long way to go before the entire stack of technologies that make up a mobile phone is opened. The best way to get open devices is to make them. Demand for open components will make open phones drop in price.

So, with regard to open hardware, I can put together designs (component lists, form factors, HW/software specs) and get feedback from highly qualified people/companies on whether they can be brought to reality. I also have a good knowledge of where and how today’s devices are made. I’ve had an obsession with the $15ish (depending on innards) q8 Android tablet design, and am quite familiar with HuaQiangBei in Shenzhen.